Skip to content

Leaders Education Foundation Gives $45,000 at 2023 Annual Meeting

JACKSON, Tenn. (April 19, 2023) Leaders Education Foundation, a non-profit 501(c)(3), hosted its fourth annual meeting on Tuesday, April 18, 2023, and donated $20,000 to The READ Team and awarded $25,000 in scholarships to West Tenn. graduating high school seniors.


Leaders Education Foundation is continuing its 5-year commitment to The READ Team, a program of United Way of West Tennessee. At the 2023 Annual meeting, Leaders Education Foundation presented a $20,000 check to help continue its mission. The READ Team allows volunteers to partner with students during school hours and under school staff supervision to assist students with reading initiatives weekly. The READ team also manages Words on Wheels, or what is better known as the WOW Wagon, where they take books into various neighborhoods. The commitment and money donated by Leaders Education Foundation covers the cost of materials and resources needed in the schools and with training initiatives for the volunteers. It also helps expand the program throughout West Tennessee.

Leaders then awarded scholarships of varying amounts for high school seniors attending a college or university. Leaders Education Foundation received 164 applications from across West Tenn., and the Financial Wellness Video Scholarship’s videos reached over 30,000 people.


“Our hope is to recognize young lives making an initiative to impact others,” said Ron Hill, Leaders Education Foundation Board Chair. “We hope this scholarship, will help them reach their academic goals.”


Scholarship winners include: 


  • $2,500 Financial Wellness Video Scholarship – Hannah Pankey-Humboldt High School
  • $2,000 Financial Wellness Video Scholarship – Second Place – Elise Havercamp – Madison Academic High School
  • $2,500 Leaders Credit Union Martha Britt Scholarship – Chloe Brasfield – Jackson Christian School
  • $2,000 Leaders Credit Union Martha Britt Scholarship – Second Place – Amir Doumitt – Madison Academic High School
  • $1,000 Scholarship in honor of Town & Country Realtors – Kayleigh Williams -South Gibson Country High School
  • $1,000 Scholarship in honor of Ellis Insurance – Braden Nye – Madison Academic High School
  • $1,000 Jackson-Madison County Schools Founder’s Scholarship – Madison Agomuo – Jackson-Central Merry Early College High
  • $1,000 Dyer County Community Scholarship – Taylor Bradford – Dyer County High School
  • $1,000 Gibson County Community Scholarship - Autumn Jones - Milan High School
  • $1,000 Obion County Community Scholarship –Alyssa Durham – Union City High School
  • $1,000 Shelby County Community Scholarship – Elisabeth Haney – Bartlett High School
  • $1,000 Community Scholarship – Katie Alexander – Jackson Christian
  • $1,000 Community Scholarship – Docia Baker – Trinity Christian School
  • $1,000 Community Scholarship – Reagan Durkee – Union City High School
  • $1,000 Community Scholarship – Addison Forsythe – North Side High School
  • $1,000 Community Scholarship – Maggie Huckaby – Chester County High School
  • $1,000 Community Scholarship – Briana Jordan – Peabody High School
  • $1,000 Community Scholarship - Kayla Mackey- North Side High School
  • $1,000 Community Scholarship - Mary Ellen Montgomery – Milan High School
  • $1,000 Community Scholarship – Katelin Rutledge – Westview High School

“As the Foundation continues to grow, we will seek new opportunities to support educational initiatives that allow us to fulfill our Mission,” Leaders Education Foundation President Leigh Anne Bentley said. “We strive to Make Lives Better, Together.”  


To start the meeting, Arlington Elementary students performed the National Anthem. The annual meeting also covered approval of the 2023 annual meeting minutes, the Board Chairman’s report, the President’s report, the Nominating Committee report, and closing remarks.


The leadership of the Leaders Education Foundation is comprised of a volunteer Board of Directors and staff donating their time, talent, and treasures. The board of directors consists of: Ron Hill, Eddie Hays, Mary Lou Adams, Yvette Blue, Eddie Mae Pirtle, Karen Taylor, and Stephanie Riley. Two additional board members voted in at the annual meeting include Greg Hammond and Stan Sanders.


For more information regarding Leaders Education Foundation or to view their 2022 Annual Report, please visit  


About Leaders Education Foundation 

Leaders Education Foundation is a non-profit 501(c)3 organization established in 2019 and based in Jackson, Tenn. The Foundation allows community-minded citizens, members, and organizations to unite to make lives better together. It invests back into its community through scholarships, grants, and additional resources that provide educational opportunities and promote workforce development, lifelong learning, and training for students, teachers, and its community.  For more information about Leaders Education Foundation or to become a member and Give Forward, please visit